My Story.

This has been my year to be brave.

In the beginning of the year, actually at the end of 2012 ~ this verse leapt off the page to me and I didn’t really know just how much I would need to draw upon it until now.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or discouraged; the Lord your God is with you wherever you go ~ Joshua 1:9

For five years I’ve been sharing bits and pieces of my story and my struggle with depression but never in as much detail as this past Sunday.

A few months back my Pastor asked me if I would share my story as the wrap-up of a series called UNMASKED.  It was timely request.  After 7 years now of cycling in and out of rough bouts with depression I finally feel like I have a handle on how to cope with it.

Every time I make it through a rough patch I believe that I am done with it forever although I know that is not probable.  The difference now is that I feel like I have all the tools I need to fight. Until this past year I always felt like I was missing something. Now that I know how to combat the shame associated with depression I believe that I will never suffer as badly as I have in the past.

You can hear my story here. The message begins about 21 mins into the video.

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 8.47.23 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shame affects every one of us without exception so regardless of whether you suffer from depression or not I believe this message will encourage you.  At least that is my hope and the reason that I have chosen to be brave and share.  As always I welcome your feedback and comments…

One thought on “My Story.

  1. Tracey, First I want to say thank you for being brave enough to share your story. I know it cannot be easy and I personally do not know if I could share my own story like you have. Secondly, I feel lots of compassion and understanding since I myself deal with shame and depression in my own life. I have struggled with insecurity and feelings of low self-worth from years of abuse.
    Being a christian it is sometimes hard to admit you have these negative thoughts. Many times I think I have conquered it and then something happens and there it is again the horrible thoughts of not being good enough or not being accepted.
    I am confident though in knowing that God is always with me and I have his word (truth) to always keep me strong. I also have people like you to remind me I am not alone. Thank you Tracey for reminding me to tell my story to let other women know they can be brave and that they are enough.

    Like

Comments are closed.